

SATEFL AGM 10 December 2011

Randolph School of English, Edinburgh

Minutes

The meeting started at 11.05

Present: Committee: Barbara Bianchi, Anne Carmichael, Sybille Brinz, Danny Levis,

Patricia Findlay, Kathleen Henderson, Lucy Bradley

Apologies: Eddy Moran Caroline Dudgeon, Alexandra Haworth, Sam Weekes

Also: Nina Vivanco, Jane McKinlay, Jean McCutcheon, Mariette Lobo, Emma Guion-Adkag, Lize Turner, Cynthia Stephens, Jo Stanbridge, Diane Mellings, Nick Pilcher, Pat Baxter, Jiyeong Ryu, Lin Pei Yi, Hsiao Hsin-I, Sarah O'Brien, Jane Richardson, Emily Fais, Christine Blair-Murray, Paul Knowles, Colette Mimnagh, Anita Yuan Yuan, Xu Jing, Rosalind Doig, Yang Xu, Siyu Chen, Laura McKinlay, Ting Wen, Yulong Li, Cataryna (???), Gill Frood, John Small, Clare Hayward, Mike Orr, Lijuan Wang, Sevim Inal

1. Previous Year's Minutes

Minutes proposed and seconded

2. Matters Arising - None

3. Chair's Report

Kathleen Henderson gave a summary of the previous year's SATEFL activities and praised their success. She thanked the committee for all their hard work, especially Eddy Moran, Danny Levis and Sybille Brinz for holding the fort when SATEFL went through a period of difficulties.

Kathleen announced the forthcoming launch of the new SATEFL website in January, with improved features and the possibility of member forums in the future.

4. Treasurer Report

The finances are in a healthy position and Danny explained that grants for conferences are available. In a vote it was agreed that smaller Day-fees could be paid for the IATEFL conference in Glasgow rather than a Whole-Conference fee.

It was also voted to raise the admissions fee for the October conference and charge everyone, with SATEFL members benefiting from a reduced fee.

5. Newsletter /Website Update

This was addressed in point 3. There will be no newsletter as such but increased amounts of write-ups of events.

6. Elections

- 1. Kathleen Henderson remains Chair for the second year.
- 2. Sybille remains Membership Secretary (for one final year, asked SATEFL members to approach her for a handover in Oct/Nov 2012 if they were interested in the post from Dec 2012)
- 3. Eddy Moran, 4. Anne Carmichael, 5. Caroline Dudgeon, 6. Patricia Findlay, 7. Barbara Bianchi and 8. Samantha Weekes remain on the Committee for the forthcoming year. Barbara Bianchi to take on the role of Secretary.

Sam Weekes to take on the role of Website Editor. (informally held through most of 2011) Positions proposed by Sybille Brinz and seconded by Kathleen Henderson/Danny Levis Newly voted on to the committee were also:

- 9. Clare Hayward in the role of Vice Chair proposed by Sybille Brinz, seconded by Danny Levis
- 10. Christine Blair-Murray in the role of Treasurer (handover in January) proposed by Danny Levis, seconded by Kathleen Henderson
- 11. Emily Bryson proposed by Danny Levis, seconded by Kathleen Henderson
- 12. Sevim Inal proposed by Sybille Brinz, seconded by Danny Levis

7. Forthcoming Events

This was already outlined in Kathleen's Chair report as follows:

March 17 - Kerry Garruthers on CLIL with Music, Kirkcaldy

May 26 – Russell Stannard, Napier University (tbc)

October – Whole Day conference in Stirling – Day and Speaker tbc

December – AGM in Edinburgh – Day and Speaker tbc

8. AOB

Kathleen thanked Jean McCutcheon for her tireless support of SATEFL with the book display and her help throughout the years of SATEFL and made Jean an Honorary Member of SATEFL.

Kathleen thanked Val and the staff at the Randolph School of English for hosting the event.

The meeting finished at 11.35